Help with the basics of Python with Dobot

Hey there, I am a bit novice when it comes to python but I need to use it with Dobot.
I have looked through the demo python file, it runs fine and I have been trying to learn from it.
But recreating it and doing simple tasks like moving from on position to another is troublesome.

If someone could make an example code that I could have a look at, it would help immensely.

I use Pycharm.

Hi,

is your connection to the dobot is already working?
Can you post some of your code so we can have a look at it?

Hi Chris, I did since get it to work. I was missing a While(true) statement, makes me feel dumb.

I do have another issue, is it possible to use python to program two Dobots at the same time so they can perform a task together? I know I can open two dobotstudios but they work individually and not together.

Any help is greatly appreciated.

It should be possible. The searchDobot-function will give you a list with all COM-Ports which use the driver of the Dobot. Which Dobot do you use?
The Diffence is, that the Dobot Magician works with an CH340 driver, this can be a problem in first try. The M1 driver is a FTDI driver which have an ID, so you can choose your required ID.

I use two Dobot Magicians.
I found the SearchDobot function but due to my inexperience I don’t know how it works.

Is there some example code I can look at, like the downloadable DobotdemoV2.0 file on the Dobot site.

I haven’t test this and I’m using C# at the moment. If you are sure that the Dobot won’t be connect to other ports in the future you can use a little work around.
The easiest way is to look in the windows device manager and connect one of the Dobots. So you get the COM-Port of first one. Then do the same with the other Dobot on the other Port.
After that you can use the connectDobot-function (like in the example):
state = dType.ConnectDobot(api, “COMX”, 115200)[0]

I’m not sure if you can connect both dobots in same time. You have to try this.