Using an Arduino with Dobot Magician assistance

Hi,

At my college I was recently assigned a task in one of my class to use a Dobot Magician to grab candy and then move it somewhere else. I have basic knowledge in Arudino coding. The steps system will go through are:

1. Push a button, that will activate a piston or something to push the candy out of a container.
  2. The dobot will grab the candy (via suction cup), and then move it to a bowl on the opposite side
  3. A LED strip around the bowl will turn green and then a sensor is placed there also so the system knows candy is there so you can’t spam the button to get more candy. (There will be a small LCD screen also that will state what process the system is doing and will tell the user they need to grab the candy first before trying to press the button for more).

My professors want to be able to bring this to conferences and college fairs so hopefully that is possible.

Basically all the Dobot is doing is picking up and moving candy (This is a video of me using it connected to my laptop using the Dobot’s program). It’ll travel probably a foot or two (unlike in the video which is a few inches).

I know you can save a program/function to the Dobot so it doesn’t need to be plugged into the computer. Is there a way to make it so the program/function works off a signal from the Arduino so I technically don’t need to code home positions and turning on/off the suction cup (I know you can press the key button)? All I’d have to “program” is the teach&play mode on the Dobot’s Program.